Skip to content

Went to a Party…

02/03/2009

Last night I went to a party and met a guy who told me he was interested in the Shikoku Henro, a pilgrimage on the island of Shikoku that follows the path of 88 temples.  Ever since I first heard about this pilgrimage, probably sometime in 2000 when I first came to Japan, I was interested in making the journey.  Considering that the full trek is 1200km and takes anywhere from 30 to 60 days to complete, I have never made concrete plans to challenge it.  My interest, however,  was further sparked when Bill followed the Camino to Santiago de Compostella in 2006.  There is something attractive to me about setting out on such a daunting physical task, perhaps it is the allure of meeting people and seeing the county along the way.  While I still have no plans to go, after meeting someone who shares an interest in following the trail, I feel that a potential wealth of experience awaits me on the trail.

In some ways you could probably say that completing a masters course is like going on a pilgrimage, only one that tests your intellectual stamina instead of your physical.  I am still only half way through with my masters, but am feeling the strain that one probably feels after completing 60o km on foot.  Knowing that you have only to complete the exact distance that you have come so far but that it will be in many ways many times more difficult.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 03/03/2009 1:07 am

    Dude, if the yen ever gets cheap again AND we both have two months free, we’re totally doing this.

Leave a Reply

